Sail Sand Point

Content is loading …

ADULT CLASSES

Beginner & Learn to Sail Classes

Learn to Sail

Want to experience all that dinghy sailing has to offer? Take these courses in order.

  • Sailing 101: Sailing Basics
  • Sailing 102: Sailing Expansion*
* = prerequisite: Adult Sailing 101 or equivalent

Adult Sailing 101: Sailing Basics

Ages 18+ (No experience necessary.)

For those with little or no prior experience sailing small boats, this course will take you through the basics of sailing a 14’ RS Quest and the Hobie Wave catamaran. With 2-3 students per boat, sailors should develop the skills required to sail independently.

Classes occur over two-week sessions on either Tuesdays and Thursdays from 6pm to 8:30PM or Saturdays and Sundays from 11AM to 1:30PM.

*PLACEHOLDER session is for LGBTQIA+ identifying sailors only.

^PLACEHOLDER session is for female-identifying sailors only.

$400

Start Date End Date Schedule Start Time End Time
4/23/2024 5/2/2024 Tues/Thurs 18:00 20:30
5/4/2024 5/12/2024 Sat/Sun 11:00 13:30
5/14/2024 5/23/2024 Tues/Thurs 18:00 20:30
5/21/2024 5/30/2024 Tues/Thurs 18:00 20:30
5/25/2024 6/1/2024 Sat/Sun 11:00 13:30
6/11/2024 6/20/2024 Tues/Thur 18:00 20:30
7/9/2024 7/18/2024 Tues/Thur 18:00 20:30
7/13/2024 7/21/2024 Sat/Sun 11:00 13:30
7/23/2024 8/1/2024 Tues/Thurs 18:00 20:30
8/3/2024 8/11/2024 Sat/Sun 11:00 13:30
8/6/2024 8/15/2024 Tues/Thurs 18:00 20:30
8/17/2024 8/25/2024 Sat/Sun 11:00 13:30

Adult Sailing 102 Sailing Skills Expansion

Ages 18+ (Prerequisite: Adult 101 or equivalent, sailing checkout on RS Quest within the last year.)

For sailors who already have basic small-boat sailing skills, this 5-hour class will help develop those skills previously learned on the RS Quest. This two day class will work with students that need a little more instruction on the water to feel more confident solo sailing. 

Classes occur two days on either Tuesdays and Thursdays from 6pm to 8:30pm or Saturdays and Sundays from 1pm to 3:30pm.

*PLACEHOLDER session is for female identifying sailors only.

$200

Start Date End Date Schedule Start Time End Time
5/18/2024 5/19/2024 Sat/Sun 13:00 15:30
6/4/2024 6/6/2024 Tues/Thurs 18:00 20:30
7/6/2024 7/7/2024 Sat/Sun 13:00 15:30
7/27/2024 7/28/2024 Sat/Sun 13:00 15:30
8/20/2024 8/22/2024 Tues/Thurs 18:00 20:30